Contacts / Officials - Fencing Ireland

Welcome to Fencing Ireland – Email

Contacts / Officials

Contacts / Officials

General queries

Please address any general queries to our General Manager, Dearbhla Foley via .


Fencing Ireland Officials  

Management Committee

Chairperson – Ursula Kappus

Ursula started her fencing journey back in 2001 as sabre fencer in UCC, and has been involved with the sport ever since, both in a competitive and an administrative capacity. She has been the national Children’s Officer since 2017 and was elected to the board in 2019. She is delighted to take over as Chairperson and excited to work with Board Members and Fencers alike to increase the profile of fencing in the country and make our sport more accessible and enjoyable for all.

Company Secretary – Patrick Brennan

Paddy represents Ireland at Senior and Veteran levels in Epee and is the Chairman of Brian Boru Fencing Club. Paddy is the Head of Internal Audit in Dublin City Council and has qualifications in Mathematics and Economics, Project Management, Innovation and Corporate Governance. Paddy was elected to the board in 2022 and took over as Company Secretary in August 2022.

Honorary Treasurer – Kevin Foley

Kevin is a senior executive and business leader with proven success in a number of financial roles. He is currently the Chief Financial Officer of Aqua Comms, and sits on a number of boards. He was co-opted onto the Fencing Ireland board in 2017 and elected Treasurer in 2018. He has fenced foil internationally for Ireland and won four Intervarsity titles with UCD.

General Manager - Dearbhla Foley –

Dearbhla Joined Fencing Ireland in July 2019. She looks after the day to day running of Fencing Ireland and the development and growth of fencing nationwide. She also looks after the well being of all clubs and members.

Development Officer - Colm Flynn

Colm is the Development Officer for Fencing Ireland and for fencing in Trinity College Dublin where he is also Head Coach. Colm represented Ireland internationally as an épéeist. He captained our Men’s Épée team at the senior 5 Nations competition on five occasions. He coaches all three weapons. His role with Fencing Ireland includes delivering our schools outreach programme and developing our coaching structures.


Fencing Ireland Board

The Board currently consists of ten Board Directors, ten (including Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer) being elected at annual AGM with co-option of further members by the Board where necessary Staff members attend some meetings, or parts of meetings, to brief/advise the Board

Although some Board members may be content to give out contact details, normally they should be contacted through Head Office -

Board of Directors

  • Ursula Kappus
  • Kevin Foley
  • Patrick Brennan
  • Virginie Gautier
  • Fiadhnait McDonough
  • Megan O’Callaghan
  • Crystal Percival
  • Annemarie Sullivan
  • James Wyatt

Additional Personnel

  • Children’s Officer: Ursula Kappus
  • Anti-Doping Officer: Achilleas Floudas
  • Medical Adviser: Pauline Fleming



Women in Fencing Committee

  • Fiadhnait McDonough
  • Megan O'Callaghan
  • Annemarie Sullivan

Selection Committee
Contact email address:

  • Convenor: Nuala McGarrity
  • Chair: Owen McNamee
  • Benedict Chambers
  • Joana Ramalho
  • Rory Hayes

Youth Committee

  • Virginie Gautier
  • Ursula Kappus
  • Patrick Dight
  • Olga Velma
  • Stefania Negro

Competitions Committee

  • Duncan Salter
  • Desmond Gilhooly
  • John Jones
  • Nuala McGarrity

Referees Committee
Contact email address:

  • Colm Flynn
  • Crystal Percival
  • James Wyatt

Audit Committee

  • Philip Lee
  • Julian Smith

Delegates to FIE and EFC

  • Desmond Gilhooly
  • Nuala McGarrity



Scroll to Top